NBA On Christmas: 2017 Edition

 

In celebration of the 70th edition of the NBA Christmas Day Games

 

 

On December 25, 2017 the NBA is celebrating the 70th edition of its Christmas Day Games. There is a lot riding on the line and a few highlight games that are sure to keep the excitement up this holiday season. Really, you do not want to miss this.

 

Philadelphia 76ers vs New York Knicks

12pm, Eastern Time (1am, Philippines)

 

For the first time this season, the Philadelphia 76ers are facing off against the New York Knicks. And while this is the Knicks’ 52nd Christmas Day, the 76ers are coming of a holiday draught since 2001.

 

The game is sure to be a great watch, but most eyes will be on three particular players who are potential first-time All-Star selections Joel Embiid, Ben Simmons and Kristaps Porzingis. With the level of skill and variety that these three international standouts have, the game is likely to bring out some killer moves, exciting chases and must-see plays.

 

 

RELATED: NBA Season ’17-’18 Week 3: Surprises, Highlights & Killer Halloween Costumes

 

Cleveland Cavaliers vs Golden State Warriors

3pm, Eastern Time (4am, Philippines)

 

Bound to be one of the more watched Christmas day games, the Cleveland Cavaliers are matched up against the Golden State Warriors. The last time these two teams faced off was at the 2017 NBA Finals, so you know it’s going to be a tense and exciting game to watch. Moreover, the two teams seem to be creating a tradition as this is their third consecutive Christmas Day matchup.

 

Last year’s matchup was a classic that we all still remember. Cleveland rallied from a 14-point deficit in the fourth quarter and one Kyrie Irving made a game winning shot with just 3.4 seconds left on the clock.

 

Washington Wizards vs Boston Celtics

5:30pm, Eastern Time (6:30am, Philippines)

 

The last time the Washington Wizards shared the court with the Boston Celtics was in the 2017 Eastern Conference Semifinals and Coach Brad Stevens led his team one step further to the Finals. The Celtics have four new starters this season but have proven to still be one of the league’s top teams, currently holding the NBA’s best start.

 

But while this is so, there is no denying that the Wizards have their fair share of strong players as well. John Wall and Kyrie Irving were the top overall picks in their respective Drafts and both have appeared in four NBA All-Star Games. Moreover, Bradley Beal is currently making big waves—so much so that he might debut his skills in this season’s All-Star selection.

 

 

RELATED: NBA Catch-up: What Went Down During Weeks 4 and 5 at the 2017-2018 NBA Regular Season

 

Houston Rockets vs Oklahoma City Thunder

8pm, Eastern Time (9am, Philippines)

 

During the first round of the 2017 Playoffs, the Houston Rockets defeated the OKC Thunders in five games. And if this isn’t enough to build the excitement surrounding the game, former teammates Russell Westbrook and James Harden, who dueled for the MVP Award last season, are sure to bring their A game. Notable as well that while Westbrook earned the honor, it was Harden who was unanimously voted into the 2016-2017 All-NBA First Team.

 

The center matchup between the teams is also something to look out for. Clint Capela and Steven Adams are two of the top young international big men who are sure to square off in the game.

 

Minnesota Timberwolves vs LA Lakers

10:30pm, Eastern Time (11:30am, Philippines)

 

Another debut matchup this season is between the Minnesota Timberwolves and the Los Angeles Lakers. This will be the Lakers’ 19th consecutive Christmas Day appearance, while Minnesota is much younger as this game will mark just their second on the holiday.

 

As of Week 8 of the season, the Timberwolves rank fifth in the West and are hungry to make it to the playoffs for the first time in more than a decade. Of course, the Lakers are not going to give it their opponents easy, especially since the team is looking to build around Brandon Ingram and Lonzo Ball.

 

 

 

RELATED: NBA 2017-2018: What’s Happening In The Regular Season

 

This year’s NBA Christmas Day Games are a can’t miss. Make sure you don’t get left behind with the  official NBA app on your mobile phone via Google Play or the App Store. You can also watch every available game of the 2017-2018 regular season with the NBA League Pass