The 411 on UAAP Season 80


The men’s basketball tournament is just heating up!



The eight Manila university teams are back for UAAP with Far Eastern University as the host school of Season 80.


The Adamson University Soaring Falcons, Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles, De La Salle University Green Archers (the defending champs,) Far Eatern University Tamaraws, National University Bulldogs, University of the East Red Warrios, University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons and University of Sto. Tomas Growling Tigers are eyeing the crown, all “going for great” this season.



As the NU and DLSU teams meet on the court for game 7 in the season later today, followed by AdU vs. UST right after, here’s all you need to know about the season that kicked off just last week:


Goodbye, thrice-to-beat advantage:

Those who get perfect scores throughout this round do not get an automatic slot in the Finals. The UAAP has removed the thrice-to-beat advantage of teams in all sports save for football.


“Instead, the no.1 seed will only gain an outright Finals slot in case of an eliminations sweep, while the remaining three teams will still undergo a step-ladder format,” reports Randolph Leongson of Inquirer. “The no. 3 and 4 seeds will still face off in a knockout game, with the victor advancing to the next step against the no. 2 seed, which will enjoy a twice-to-beat edge.”


Behind the teams, the coaches:

Francisco "Franz" Pumaren. Photo via and Thomas Anthony "Tab" Baldwin. Photo via


Aldin Ayo. Photo via The Lasallian and Rodericko Cesar "Olsen" Racela. Photo via CNN Philippines


Michael Ray "Jamike" Jarin and Frederick "Derrick" Pumaren. Photo via ABS-CBN


Dolreich "Bo" Perasol. Photo via CNN Philippines and Rodil Sablan. Photo via FastBreak


And their courtside reporters:

Trisha Nicole Sumagui. Photo via @nicolesumagui on Instagram and Martie Cinelle Bautista. Photo via @martiebautista on Instagram

Eileen Shi. Photo via @eileeenshi on Instagram and Sydney Alison Crespo. Photo via @sydneycrespo on Instagram


Carlos Dypiangco. Photo via @migueldyp on Instagram and Jose Miguel Gomez. Photo via @MigzGomez on Twitter


Jean Agatha Uvero. Photo via @jeanagatha on Instagram and Tonie Marie Moreno. Photo via @monietoreno on Instagram


This year, courtside reporters are joined by UAAP Insiders:

UP’s Pauline Verzosa and Ianira Mae Pablo, UST’s Mary Angelique Manto, and Ganiel Akrisha Krishnan from FEU. Photo via GMA News Online


FEU greeted all other teams on opening day with this wonderful display (also establishing the theme of the season):

via @SportsLivePH on Twitter


And it was a day attended by UAAP Legends:

via @TheScorePH on Twitter


UP Pep is back at it and announced that they will be rejoining the UAAP Cheer Dance Competition this year:


Just seven games into Round 1, the competition’s already heating up:

via @UAAP_Season80 on Twitter


You can expect the rekindling of rivalries, new and old:

via @kwentongupd on Twitter



Catch all UAAP games live on ABS-CBN or stream them on ABS-CBN’s live stream.




The Greatest Filipino Basketball Players Of All Time

3 Reasons Why Steph Curry Is Every Girl’s Man Crush

You Know You're a True Basketball Fan if You Follow These Sites

Basketball Burgers - Snack Attack E02 with Team Kramer